top of page

See what is new
on
Learn&Praise@Home's Pinterest!

_edited.png
Test
  • Writer's pictureBrittany Nguyen

A QUICK Homeschool Hack for Stretching Use of your Workbooks -Gotta Save 'em for those other kiddos!

This post is for my fellow Homeschooling Readers! Just dropping in for a few (unsponsored and authentically my true) recommendations for making the best use of the workbooks you would like to (or must) save for another child to use down the line. {Note: It is a good idea to check the copyright terms of your particular workbook: some allow copies to be printed for your own household (I like to save paper & ink/toner and follow the suggestions below instead 👇 😁). Also, as far as I am aware, placing any page of a workbook that you purchased in a Clear Sheet Protector does not count as "copies" so does not break copyright laws!---please comment below if your workbook details otherwise...I haven't found one yet! 😊}


  • Step 1 Use a Binder filled with enough Clear Sheet Protectors for each page of your workbook. Pro Tip: If you are confident in not hurting yourself with a box cutter 👌, you can cut off the binding of your workbook in lieu of tearing out tricky pages. Not so confident? Visit your local Office Supply Store (Staples, OfficeMax, etc.) and have them cut off the binding for a few bucks (I'm too frugal to go this route, 🤭, but it is a good option if you're not!)



  • Step 2 Use a Writing Utensil suited for Writing on Clear Sheet Protectors. The Key is to find something that is not too messy (one messy example I found was wet-erase markers that tend to get all over the child's hands!), not too easily erased (think dry erase markers...though, this might be okay for a sheet not needing to be referenced later), AND also not too difficult to remove when you need the Clear Sheet Protector again! Here is a Run-Down of what I have used in the past, and my experience with each (leaving out dry-erase & wet-erase markers since I already found they DO NOT work for me):

    • 1. Permanent Marker- Insert your page, and child can start right away with their permanent marker of choice directly on the Clear Sheet Protector. Did you know "permanent" marker doesn't always have to be so permanent? All you need is a suitable writing surface (i.e. clear sheet protector, white board, glass, etc.) AND either a Dry-Erase Marker or (if you are ok with the chemicals) Nail-Polish Remover! My favorite for sheets that don't have too much to write or draw on is the "Erase with Dry-Erase Marker Method" (which I just created the name for 😁). Simply trace over the markings done with permanent marker in Dry-Erase Marker and BE AMAZED while the markings disappear with each wipe! See Pictures below. A great advantage of using permanent markers is the variety of point sizes to choose from (smaller points are especially helpful for older students whose worksheets allow less space for writing). Cons: If there is a lot of writing and a lot of pages used with permanent marker-- cleaning clear protector pages off at the end of the year can take a LONG time, but this is something I personally do not mind (most of the time--I usually opt for Nail-Polish Remover if this is the case, with an open window, of course! ) …OR, you could always just get more clear protector covers, lol (kidding, sort of!).


  • 2. "Dry Erase" Crayons- You can get these here (but wait, there is another cheaper option that works just as well AND is CHEAPER--SEE POINT 3!) I used Crayola brand--and paid $5.55. I had an ah-ha moment as I scrolled Amazon & saw these, and thought "these would be perfect!". They do work quite well & go on the page so smoothly and nice, but I do have a few complaints. Cons: they are a bit pricey (to me). Another thing, although they do stay on the page surprisingly well, they were designed to be dry-erase, so they smudge a bit if rubbed against too much--but not as much as you might think (a lot of the sheets my daughter used these on look as good as the first day used several weeks later). Adding to the bit of negatives, due to their bigger size it makes it difficult to keep the writing point at a good sharpness which is needed for neatness and smaller writing areas. Counter Argument: They DO come with a sharpener, which is a plus, and it has served my 1st grader's needs (her worksheets give plenty of space so bigger marks are OK at her stage of writing). Note on some of the lighter colors for these and the Ultra-Clean Crayons below: I mainly use only the bolder colors. Yellow in particular doesn't suit too well for answering questions as it is a bit too light for my liking.


  • 3. Ultra-Clean Washable Crayons- Color MAX (NOTE: This is my NEW FAV!!) These are the cheapest of the 3 options (only $2.32 for the 8pk at the time of posting), and work even better than I thought they would!! I opted for THIS 8-pack Easy-Grip/Large crayons (lower price tag did it for me, go figure! lol). Now, I am excited to eventually try the smaller grip-size 16-pack HERE, which will likely do better in smaller writing spaces (let me know if you try this size in the comments 👇👇, and how you like them is so!). Some may ask: Is this lady really that excited about Crayons? I imagine as a fellow homeschooler, you can relate to finding an awesome solution for your classroom, 😁! These go on very smoothly, stay put with little-to-no smudging, and clean off so easy! I have only used for a short time, but I have found no cons yet (besides those that go hand-in-hand with choosing the bigger crayon size and accepting their limited ability to make a fine point--if that is needed I'm thinking the smaller crayon size option in this Ultra-Clean version crayon pack might solve that.



Smudge Test! Crayola Dry-Erase Crayons (Left) vs. Crayola Ultra-Clean Washable Crayons- Color MAX (Right) -- Winner: by far = Crayola Ultra-Clean Washable Crayons!


This test was on the outside of my binder. I will say: there is less of a dramatic difference if written on the Clear Sheet Protectors.

The Dry-Erase Crayons smudge way less on the protectors vs. the outside of the binder (so that might be less of a concern for you when deciding between the two kinds). They are also a bit bolder in color compared to the Ultra-Clean Crayons...so it all comes down to preference -- I like the lower price point on the Ultra-Clean crayons and the fact that they work very similarly to the higher price Dry-Erase Crayons.



Have you tried any of these? Which is your favorite?? If you haven't tried, which are you most eager to try!? Let us know in the comments!!


Make sure to look over some of my other recent Blog Post for more Homeschool Help & Teacher Resources! Hit "FOLLOW" to be notified of new Blog Post & Resources! See you in your inbox! Now back to our busy Homeschooling lives...



13 views0 comments
subscribe section.jpg

STAY IN THE KNOW

Thanks for submitting!

Get updates on New Blog Post & Resources from Learn&Praise@Home

bottom of page